“You know that four letter word that I’m not suppose to say… that starts with an F and ends with a K… and isn’t fork? Have you noticed that that particular word can be a noun or a verb or an adjective or I mean… you can make an entire sentence out of using that one word… right? Can you imagine… as a side… what it must be like to be a person who struggles with English as a second language… encountering that word? And anyway, this word can be used in a lot of different ways… I’m sure that you can be creative with it and still communicate. Yes? The thing is… the word moment also has a bunch of different meanings and after about next week, we’re not gonna tell you which meaning we mean… just gonna use the word moment! Now, I’ve been doin’ this a long time and I can tell you what some of the confusions are.. so that’s what I’m gonna start with. You have a basic gut-level notion of what a moment is… great. But I want to make sure you can be just as creative in your sentences with THAT word… as that other word. [Goes onto explain the different contexts of the word motion}” -Statics Professor

Yes, I know my professors name. I didn’t include it since I’m not particularly sure that person would want to be quoted on this analogy.

Though it is in a recorded lecture online so I imagine it is alright. No… I can not share the actual lecture. I know what you are thinking… “GOSH DARN IT! I wanted to see such exciting material as statics!” I apologize.

I think it is a good analogy though… especially for college students… that is why I’m sharing it.

Personally, I don’t cuss. Those words just don’t tend to have much of a place in my vocabulary.

But… just because you don’t cuss doesn’t mean that the whole campus (or the world in general) is void of those words.

Yes, I have heard the many creative ways that particular word can be used (the word my professor mentions)… and I know most other college students have as well.

That is why I say this analogy for how “moment” can have different meanings is a great analogy… one that pretty much all college students can relate to in some way.

… She is saying “moment” is a bad word… right? Haha

Have a great Labor Day weekend everyone!

(By the way… the picture above has nothing to do with this post. I just felt like adding it. This is the modified Big Wheel one of two engineering teams, the one I was one, put together. It was then raced against some other modified Big Wheels.)

