This post is from my friend/roommates blog… The 365 project.

I remember Kirsten telling me the news about her dad last year and how my heart dropped to the lowest points of my stomach. I remember conversations of uncertainty and worry… the conversations before, during, and after the surgery.

But I also remember watching how strong she stood in situations where everything seemed to be crashing down and trying to break her. I remember stories about her dad after his surgery… how he had his goal of recovering and getting out quicker than the estimated time. Now… I’ve never even met Kirsten’s dad…. but even through pain that I can’t even imagine, he still seemed to stand strong and didn’t seem to lose his spirit.

People don’t have expiration dates. Beautifully written, Kirsten. It brought tears to my eyes and made my heart soar when I heard that your dad was finished with chemo.

The 365 Project

IMG_5284

This a long one, but I feel like it’s the most important one I’ve written so far, so if you can, I encourage you to keep reading until the end.

On October 24th, 2014, I received a phone call that would change my life forever. It’s funny how moments like this tend to happen when you’re completing the most mundane tasks. They kind of hit you in the face that way. I had just gotten out of a meeting at my school’s career center and was in a pretty good mood. I checked my phone, saw I had a missed call from my mom, and listened to the voicemail as I walked back to my dorm.

To my surprise, it was my dad on the recording. I could hear the weight of the news he was about to deliver in his simple messages that said, “Hey, sweetie. It’s your dad…

View original post 764 more words

