Today I went on a field trip with Nate’s kindergarten class to see gingerbread houses at the Grove Park Inn.

I also attended Isaac’s orchestra concert (which was great).

These two occasions lead me to two different thoughts…

How it’s sometimes funny being the older sibling of a much younger child, like Nate (and appearing younger than your age). You might be considered an adult by society… but you are still a child.

When you are carefully walking your younger sibling and his field trip buddy across the parking lot and all of a sudden his buddy comes to a halt and exclaims “Oh no! We have to wait for the ADULT!!” You can’t help but laugh. Yes, you are almost drinking age but in the eyes of this child… you still better be waiting for the ADULT chaperon.

The other thing is… I miss cello.

I haven’t played in… a year? Over a year? Yipes. Kind of sad.

While I told myself I would keep up with it… it has sat in a corner of the house probably becoming incredibly out of tune. I don’t make time for it anymore. In middle and high school, time was made for me. There was a set class period to go and play. I loved cello (and viola) and I loved performing in the concerts. It’s still a bit odd to think it’s been two and a half years since I have performed.

That’s what happens. You make time for somethings and lose the time for others.

Maybe I will try to play it over break (if I can get pass the painful part of trying to tune it) and eventually… maybe I will make room at the dorm and find time for it in my schedule. Maybe… it’s a lot of maybes…

Also, tomorrow is my parents anniversary. 22 years and counting… wow. I love you both very much! I hope this anniversary and coming year is a great one!

*I thought the picture above looked a little like myself when I was learning to play cello. It’s from this website.

